Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Fines, costs and restitution are paid in the Butler County Clerk of Court's office located on the first floor of the Butler County Courthouse. Make checks payable to:
You will continually maintain telephone service by either or both cell and landline service. You must always be able to contact or receive calls from your Adult Probation Officer or Electronic Monitoring (EM) Specialist for the duration of supervision under electronic monitoring. Electricity and telephone are required. If either is disconnected you must contact your assigned Adult Probation Officer and EM Specialist immediately. Electronic Monitoring reserves the right to require you to maintain a private telephone line. If EM requires you to do so, you will be responsible for all expenses surrounding the telephone line.
Failure to maintain the telephone line may disqualify you from the electronic monitoring program. If this occurs your Probation Officer will be contacted.
Offenders under active supervision may not have any weapons, including but not limited to, rifles, shotguns, or handguns on their person, in their residence, or in their vehicle. Additionally, if someone is convicted of a crime that could have carried a maximum penalty of more than two years, or involved a firearm or explosive, they are prohibited from owning or possessing any firearm(s) under the provisions of the Federal Gun Control Act Of 1968 and 1986.
Someone under active supervision may only leave Pennsylvania with a temporary travel permit issued by their probation officer. Offenders should request a travel permit well in advance of their anticipated departure date.
Some of the fines are mandated by law, while others are determined by the Court. Costs are mandated by law or local rule. Restitution is determined based on the amount of damage incurred.
View the Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System website for the lists of all outstanding amounts due by docket number.
Generally a sentence of confinement requires a minimum and a maximum time. In Pennsylvania, a state sentence is one with a maximum of 2 years or more. The Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole is the paroling and supervising authority in state sentences. A county sentence is one in which the maximum sentence is 2 years minus 1 day or less. The sentencing judge grants parole in a county sentence and the county parole office supervises these offenders
2021 Primary Election Polling Locations
Registration closes 15 days prior to every primary and general election.
In Pennsylvania, you now have two options for mail ballots. You may either choose a mail-in ballot or an absentee ballot to request, complete, and return to your county election office.
In order to request either ballot type, you must be registered to vote. Please visit the department of state website to view more information on how to apply for and receive an absentee ballot.
You may also call the Bureau of Elections at 724-284-5308 or 724-284-5309 to request an absentee or mail-in ballot application.
Please visit the Pennsylvania Voting website where you may choose to make any changes online or print and complete a New/Change Voter Registration Application form and submit it to our office at:Butler County Elections BureauP.O. Box 1208Butler, PA 16003
Alternatively, this can be done through the renewal of your driver's license or by calling the Bureau of Elections at 724-284-5308 or 724-284-5309 to request a Party/Address Change form.
Under the new Pennsylvania Voter Registration Act, you must be inactive for five years. Even then you will be notified before you are removed.
You have to be 18 years of age by the day of the ensuing election.
From 7 am continuous to 8 pm.
Listen or read what the news media has to report, more important go to the candidate debates or talk to the candidates personally. The Election Bureau will never give out information concerning candidates' viewpoints.
Pennsylvania has what is called a closed Primary, which only allows Republicans and Democrats to vote for candidates. If there is a referendum on the ballot, all registered voters may vote for the referendum regardless of party affiliation.
Your vote is very important. There have been many candidates in Butler County that have won the election by one vote.
To request Voter Registration information, Campaign Finance Reports, or any pubic information related to Butler County Elections or Voter Registration you must complete the Information Request Form (PDF) and submit to our office at:Butler County Elections BureauP.O. Box 1208Butler, PA 16003
You must also submit a copy of the identification of the person submitting a request.
Find out more information on running for an elected office. You must call the Election Bureau in January of each year to see if the office you are interested in is up for election. Judicial, County, City, Township, Borough, and School District offices are always an odd number of years. Federal, State, and party offices are on even number years.
BCIB is a loan financing program for municipal entities (i.e. eligible borrowers) for the design and construction of infrastructure improvements, created by the County utilizing County-allocated Act 13 Impact Fees. The County will use its Act 13 Impact Fee allocation as collateral against new debt and in-turn provides subsidized reduced interest loans for its municipalities, making infrastructure projects more affordable. The County intends to maintain annual set-aside funding with the ultimate goal of creating an ongoing loan fund/financing stream.
Recipients of BCIB loans may receive financing at reduced interest rates for a fixed term than may be available through alternative conventional financing institutions. BCIB loan recipients may also take advantage of the "Turnkey" Project Design and Delivery option for Applicants who may not have the necessary capacity to design proposed projects effectively. The Program Engineer will oversee and lead the project delivery process from planning and design through project completion. This Turnkey process combines the project delivery capabilities of the Program Engineer with Applicant resources to ensure projects are completed in an efficient and cost effective manner.
The following entities may apply for BCIB loans (must be based in Butler County and eligible for tax-exempt borrowing):
(Note that school districts, redevelopment and economic development entities may potentially be beneficiaries of BCIB funding for public infrastructure related projects through cooperation with an eligible applicant, dependent upon proposed use of the proceeds, security and repayment; but are not permitted to apply directly to the BCIB Program at this time.)
Projects eligible for the BCIB Program must be eligible activities under Act 13 and will focus on the following:
No. Eligible project costs include the following:
Please be advised that the above list of eligible uses does not constitute Act 13 eligibility. Municipalities should consult with the County regarding specific eligibility questions. All Applicants must attend a pre-application conference to be considered for the BCIB Program.
There is no minimum or maximum amount of project size or loan financing that may be awarded to an individual project. Loan amounts will be determined based on the scope of the proposed project, the amount of leveraged funds available to the Applicant through other public and private sources, the agreement of the Applicant and/or host municipality to support the credit worthiness necessary to repay the loan, and overall demand for the BCIB Program. The County will also consider the project’s impact on regional public infrastructure goals (relating to transportation, water, wastewater, or stormwater), public health and safety, and economic development when determining subsidized loan financing awards. Applicable costs of issuance associated with securing BCIB loans may be included and financed as eligible project costs.
The maximum term for a BCIB loan is 10 years, unless otherwise determined by the Board of Commissioners. Repayments will be structured as equal payments made annually, semiannually, quarterly, or monthly over the term of the loan (yet to be confirmed). Eligible Applicants may be awarded financing at a fixed reduced interest rate for the 10 year term equal to a 1.5% interest rate subsidy on the financing secured by the County. The official loan and payment terms will be determined following the issuance of County financing. All BCIB Program loans must be secured by the Applicant. The expectation is for BCIB loans to be secured by the full faith and credit of a taxing authority, but the County reserves the right to accept other forms of security upon credit review in accordance with Section 6 of the Program Guidelines.
In order to be considered for financing through the BCIB Program, all Applicants must demonstrate credit worthiness. The evaluation of credit worthiness will include, but is not limited to, the following factors, which may be adjusted by the County as deemed necessary:
The BCIB Advisory Board intends to keep all documents submitted and designated as "confidential" or "proprietary" by eligible Applicants to the extent the documents are exempt from disclosure under the Right-to-Know Law.
To ensure timely completion of projects funded by the BCIB Program, approved projects may take advantage of the "Turnkey" Project Design and Delivery option. If an Applicant selects the Turnkey option, they will independently contract with the BCIB Program Engineer to provide resources necessary to design and implement an approved project, and to oversee and lead the project delivery process from planning and design through project completion.
This Turnkey process combines project delivery capabilities of the Program Engineer with Applicant resources to ensure projects are completed in an efficient and cost effective manner, and in compliance with any applicable time restrictions associated with the County-secured financing. The delivery process will fulfill the Applicant project requirements and ensure adherence to both the County’s and Applicant’s schedule, as well as legal and fiduciary requirements. The Program Engineer will administer all phases of the project including planning, design, permitting, bid document preparation, bidding, contracting (including administering contracts between necessary vendors and the Applicant/loan recipient to complete the project), and commissioning. The County will not be a party to the Applicant’s contract with the Program Engineer.
The "Finance Only" Project Design and Delivery option allows the Applicant to utilize their own professional to design, permit, and prepare plans and specifications for the proposed project, to be reviewed by the County.
Applicants interested in funding through the BCIB Program must request a pre-application conference with the County. Pre-application conferences must be complete per the published funding round schedule. The required conference is designed to provide potential Applicants with an overview of the Program, application process and eligibility, and assistance with budget development to assure the completeness of the project application for formal submission and review.
During the pre-application conference, the County’s BCIB Program consultants and/or staff will discuss the proposed project with the Applicant, answer BCIB Program questions, and gather additional project details.
An important outcome of the pre-application conference will be the development of the Project Budget for the BCIB Program Application. The County’s engineering consultant will review the project budget and provide confirmation or recommended changes for both the Applicant’s and the County’s consideration and concurrence when processing the application. The mutually concurred Project Budget will serve as the basis for determining the project’s financing need.
To schedule the mandatory pre-application conference, contact Mark Gordon at 724-284-5300 or email Mark Gordon.
The BCIB Advisory Board will review applications and make recommendations to the County Board of Commissioners based on the Applicant’s creditworthiness, as well as the project’s constructability and overall consistency with the BCIB Program statement of purpose; identified outcomes, such as the impact on water/wastewater/stormwater service, traffic congestion, public health and safety, and economic development; and ability to meet the overall BCIB Program objectives. The following is an expanded list of potential project evaluation criteria:
The FY 2020-2021 BCIB applications are due February 5, 2021 at 4:00 PM EST.
Submit to:Butler County Infrastructure Bank Advisory Boardc/o Mark Gordon, Chief of Economic Development and Planning County of Butler124 West Diamond StreetPO Box 1208Butler, PA 16003-1208
Email electronic submissions to Mark Gordon.
Note that email submissions cannot exceed 10MB and attachments need to be in Word, Excel or PDF format. ZIP files will not be accepted. You may submit multiple emails. If more than one email is necessary to complete the submission, please use the Subject Line of the email to label the number of submissions (e.g. "Springfield Municipality - BCIB Application 1 of 3").
Applicants must submit either one (1) electronic copy OR one (1) hard copy of the completed application with all required attachments and exhibits as provided in the program guidelines by the deadline stated above.
Applicants should check the Butler County website for the current schedule of dates and deadlines applicable to the BCIB loan program cycle. The BCIB loan approval date is subject to change at any time as may be determined by the BCIB Advisory Board and Butler County Board of Commissioners.
The BCIB Advisory Board intends to follow the process described below. Applicants are encouraged to check the Butler County website for the current schedule of important dates and deadlines applicable to the current BCIB loan Program cycle and approval process:
Following the public meeting, Applicants will receive written communication from the County advising of the loan approval/denial, as applicable.
Upon approval of an application, a commitment letter will be issued to the Applicant that outlines the terms and conditions of the BCIB loan. The commitment letter must be signed and returned within 30 days or the offer may be withdrawn. Following the acceptance of an offer by the Applicant and the satisfactory completion of applicable special conditions, a loan closing will be scheduled. Loan recipients will be required to complete Local Government Unit Debt Act proceedings or have an applicable guarantor complete such proceedings. The County and the Applicant will finalize the terms of the loan agreement, including collateral, repayment schedule, and the process for use of any non-BCIB funds towards project construction. If the Turnkey option is utilized, the County’s consultants will certify that the expenses during construction were incurred in accordance with the final design plans approved by the Applicant and the County. If the Finance-Only option is utilized, the Applicant’s consultant(s) will be required to make this certification.
All vendor contracts will be executed between the Applicant and vendor. During the project activity period, the County will receive and review project costs to confirm eligibility and determine the appropriate release of loan funds in accordance with an agreed upon schedule for the release of loan proceeds. The Applicant will be responsible for loan payments to the County in accordance with the terms and conditions of the BCIB loan documents executed at closing.
Yes. In addition to administrative costs associated with securing the financing, the following eligible project costs can also be included in the BCIB loan:
Project cost overruns are the responsibility of the borrower. Careful consideration by all parties is given to manage and avoid cost overruns. Nonetheless, the BCIB loan budget will always include a contingency line item for unanticipated costs.
This program is operated in accordance with Pennsylvania's guidelines under Chapter 138e and is a deed restriction that landowners voluntarily place on their property to protect productive agricultural land in perpetuity.
No. You still own your land and it can be sold, however the easement restricts development (as defined by the program) of the land in perpetuity, for all current and future owners.
Applications can be submitted any time of the year, however the application period is from January 1 to 31 each year. For instance, if you submit an application in August, it will be held for the next application period.
No. An agricultural conservation easement preserves the property in perpetuity by preventing development or improvement of a parcel for a purpose other than agricultural production. It does not give the public the right to enter the property unless the landowner gives permission. (Such as for hunting, etc.)
COVID-19 or Novel Coronavirus Announcements:
Message from Director:
Parents, Community Members, and other Stakeholders,
The situation with this virus pandemic has forced us to respond to unprecedented situations when it comes to our work with children, youth, and families. It is my duty to assure that we will continue to assess the safety of the county’s over 40,000 children despite any outside force. Additionally, we will continue to respond to any threats to safety as permitted by the Child Protective Services Act. At this point, we are receiving guidance from our governing bodies, The Butler County Board of Commissioners, the state Office of Children, Youth, and Families, and the local Court of Common Pleas on how to respond to various concerns generated by this virus. I will make sure to inform the public through this website of anything that may be a change to our typical practice as a result. It is my hope that this will soon pass and we can go back to having no complications to our protection of children, and services to families.
Below, I have information on what I believe will be some of the most important topics regarding this as they have come up. Most importantly, we are trying to keep our staff as healthy as possible so that we can continue to serve, as we should. If there is any communication that you can have with us by phone or email instead of visiting in person, please do. Additionally, read the section on making reports. We have very fast and efficient ways that you can report that do not involve traveling to downtown Butler. If you have any questions or issues regarding this, please feel free to email my office at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 724-284-5156.
Sincerely and appreciatively,
Charles L. Johns, Director
Parental Visitation with Children Who Are In Our Custody:
It is the agency’s wish for your family to continue visiting your child or children during this very hard to predict virus and pandemic. We are asking that you contact your visitation provider or assigned caseworker if you have any questions regarding your visitation.
During this time, it is possible to be offered more phone or video visits. We would ask that you take advantage of that.
Also, you may need to go to a facility for visitation instead of being in your home or community. We will make sure that our providers do the best they can for you in making this as pleasant as possible for you and your children. When this is over, we will do whatever we can to make up any missed visitation due to illness or risk of illness.
It is not the agency’s wish to not provide you this visitation. We regret that this has happened and has impacted you and your children. We will continue to help you as much as we can during this time.
If you are receiving in home services:
In home service providers may be making changes to their work with you. They may do this by increasing phone calls to you and lowering their amount of visits to your home in an attempt to reduce illness spreading. Please speak with your in home service provider or Caseworker if this applies to you.
When a Butler County Children and Youth Agency Caseworker comes to your Home:
During the time in which this virus is affecting our regular approaches to home visits, we want to let you know that some of our typical practices may be different. If the reason for the visit allows, we may visit your home and only speak with you or children on the porch or an outside environment. We may also view children through windows if possible and conduct the remainder of the visit through a phone call. Some reasons for home visits will still require us to enter your home. If that needs to occur, we will most likely be wearing masks and gloves. Please do not be offended by this, it is meant to protect you and our workers from the possibility of spreading the virus. Visits are still required at this time to ensure the safety of children.Contacting Your Caseworker:Recently the Butler County Children and Youth Agency took steps to reduce the volume of workers passing through the offices at the Butler County Government Center Annex. Because of this, you may not be able to contact your assigned caseworker, or there may be some delays in doing so. At this time, you may still contact 724-284-5156 and ask to speak with your Caseworker. If the worker is not available, please understand that we will make sure that you are able to speak with another worker or Supervisor. Please leave messages on voicemail and they will be returned promptly, if not, please call back and ask to speak with a supervisor.Additionally you may want to try emailing your Caseworker or Supervisor. Their email addresses can be found in the staff directory section of this webpage.
During this time routine drug testing (announced drug tests that occur at least once a week) may not happen at the frequency that they typically do so that the close contact between individuals is minimized. Each of our service providers may have different policies in response to this. Please speak with your caseworker if you have questions on this topic. If a test needs to be given you based on your child’s safety an agency Caseworker will do the test randomly if it is not otherwise done. Much like with visitation we will offer this as appropriately as possible during this time.
The Butler County Children and Youth Agency is attempting to take all appropriate steps to protect the community and our staff. At this time, we are limiting the amount and types of in person, face-to-face, walk-in reports received by the agency. If you need to make a report of child abuse or neglect you may do so in the following, safe, effective and convenient ways:
As a response to this virus, Pennsylvania Department of Children, Youth, and Families is recommending that reports be made online. That information and link is below:
You can make an electronic report to Childline by visiting the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Portal page here: Pennsylvania Child Welfare Portal page
You can also make a report by Telephone:
Anyone can report suspected child abuse or neglect by calling:
For More Information
You can read more about child abuse laws and access the full Child Protective Services Law at the Keep Kids Safe website.
Please understand that if you must speak to a caseworker in person, your wait times may be longer than expected and that the discussion may be conducted in the open area of the agency lobby where there is not a guarantee of privacy.
According to the Child Protective Services Law, "child abuse" means intentionally, knowingly or recklessly:
Child abuse also includes certain acts in which the act itself constitutes abuse without any resulting injury or condition. These recent acts include any of:
There are many factors to consider when it comes to child neglect. For example, the Agency considers things like:
More serious neglect can:
In Pennsylvania, this serious physical neglect is considered a form of child abuse (for more information review the frequently asked question "What is child abuse?").
Serious physical neglect includes a repeated, prolonged or egregious failure to supervise a child in a manner that is appropriate considering the child's age, development, or functioning, and the failure to provide the essentials of life, including food, shelter, or medical care.
You can also make an electronic report to Childline by visiting the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Portal page.
No. Butler County Children and Youth Services (CYS) does not conduct private custody proceedings, nor does the Agency conduct investigations for the purpose of helping one parent gain an advantage over the other parent in custody court.
The primary goal of CYS, per the Child Protective Services Laws (CPSL), is to help keep children safe in their home of origin whenever possible.
No. Not all referrals rise to the level of potential child abuse or neglect. Every referral is evaluated on its own merit.
If you do make a referral, please provide as much detail as possible. Most importantly, please provide:
We need to know where to send a caseworker and how to make contact with a child/family.
No. Once a person attains the age of 18, they are considered an adult, regardless of functioning level.
There are a few rare circumstances where Children and Youth Services (CYS) continues to provide services for a person over 18, but those only apply to youth who turn 18 while in CYS custody and agree to remain in custody and under the supervision of the court, or for young adults who were previously in CYS custody, and are in need of services.
Ideally, families are not in need of our services. Oftentimes, people just need to be pointed in the right direction to get help. We can provide contact information to a number of resources that do not require a Children and Youth Services (CYS) investigation or an open CYS case.
In the event that a family does need CYS services, we try to work voluntarily with a family, and can offer:
There are times we need to seek court intervention before providing services, which may include out of home placement.
We do not provide:
Please visit the Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania Web Portal.
Please contact the Enforcement Clerk at 724-284-3756.
Please contact Court Administration at 724-284-5200.
You can call them at 717-412-5300 or visit the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website.
Call 724-284-5245 or check the Sheriff’s page for further information.
The Register of Wills covers these items. They can be contacted at 724-284-1409 or more information can be found on the Register of Wills page.
Please contact the Victim Witness Advocate at 724-284-5232 or check the District Attorney page for more information.
Please contact the Treasurer at 724-284-5149 or find more information on the Treasurer page.
Please contact the Prothonotary at 724-284-5214 or visit the Prothonotary page for more information.
Please visit the District Judges page for more information.
You may contact Team DUI, Pennsylvania DUI Association at 800-627-238, or visit the Team DUI website.
Death Certificates are filed with the Pennsylvania Department of Health’s Division of Vital Statistics. Please contact the funeral director who assisted with your arrangements.
Alternately you can view information on Vital Statistics Website or by telephone. The telephone number for its New Castle Office is: 724-656-3100 or toll-free 844-228-3516
Pennsylvania law requires the Coroner investigate deaths of persons dying from criminal violence; by accident, by suicide, suddenly when unattended by a physician for a reasonable period of time, or in any suspicious or unusual manner.
Other reasons the Coroner may be involved are that the identity of the deceased or next-of-kin is unknown, or the individual is unclaimed by family.
An autopsy is a systematic examination of the body of a deceased person by a qualified physician for the purpose of determining the cause of death. A record is made on the findings of the autopsy, including microscopic and toxicology laboratory tests. These laboratory tests are conducted before the release of the body to the funeral home that the legal representative or next-of-kin has chosen.
There’s no charge to the legal representative or next-of-kin for an autopsy when a case is determined to fall under the Coroner’s jurisdiction, nor for any other test that may be conducted by the Coroner (unless specific testing not deemed by the Coroner to be consequential to cause of death, is requested by the family).
Not all deaths, and not all bodies brought to the Coroner’s office will be autopsied.
An exam is typically not performed where abuse, neglect or foul play is not suspected and evidence of a natural death is present.
In other cases where the possibility of legal proceedings may arise as a result of a homicide, accident, suicide, an autopsy may be performed. In these cases, both positive and negative information ordinarily is found, which may substantiate the determination of the cause of death by the Coroner.
The Coroner does not need permission for an autopsy. The Office of the Coroner will attempt to comply with the wishes of the legal representative or next-of-kin, provided this does not conflict with the duties and determinations of the Coroner as charged by Pennsylvania law.
Whole body donations are fairly common and done for a variety of purposes. Some people may do them for scientific purposes. Others choose them because they are a less costly alternative to a common funeral with a burial, thus leaving less of a burden for their loved ones.
Usually, the person donating their body must give their own consent and therefore must be alive, of sound mind, and able to sign a donation agreement. In some cases, a legal representative or next of kin can arrange a donation for a loved one. That decision is up to the donation bureau or agency. Please contact them with questions.
In all cases, these donations are not handled by the Coroner. Research "whole body donation" for more information. For your convenience, two agencies are listed alphabetically below:
Anatomy Gifts Registry - Maryland: (800) 300-5433 | www.anatomygifts.org | email@example.com
Humanity Gifts Registry - Pennsylvania: (215) 922-4440 | www.hgrpa.org | firstname.lastname@example.org
This depends on the circumstance. In some cases, a signed death certificate accompanies the body when it is released by the Coroner.
When there is insufficient information available to complete the death certificate, a “pending” death certificate is issued. This death certificate enables the funeral services and burial to take place while the investigation continues, or for additional chemical, microscopic, slide preparation and examination.
At the culmination of these tests and investigation, the ruling is made based on all available information. An amended death certificate is then issued with the final cause of death determination, which supersedes the “pending” death certificate.
The autopsy report, on average, takes about six to eight weeks from the date of death. If microscopic and chemical tests are performed, this time period can lengthen.
The Coroner, along with the pathologist, work very hard to determine and complete the cause of death in a timely manner.
There are some circumstances that arise where more time is needed to determine the cause and manner of death.
Usually, the clothing of the deceased is released to the funeral director for disposal or use as the family requests.
In cases of homicide, suicides, or vehicular deaths, the clothing may be held by the Coroner or the investigating law enforcement agency for use as evidence.
Please understand that in some cases, clothing may be deemed biohazardous or contaminated and cannot be returned.
Most often, the legal representative or next-of-kin discusses the selection of the funeral director with the other family members, clergy or friends.
The Office of the Coroner is prohibited from recommending a funeral director.
A listing of funeral directors is available in the telephone book, on the internet, as well as other sources.
The next-of-kin of the deceased person should notify a funeral director who in turn will arrange transportation for the deceased to the funeral home.
The Coroner releases the body to a licensed funeral director.
The release for cremation (or disposition authorization) is required by Pennsylvania code for all persons whose bodies are to be cremated, buried at sea, or otherwise disposed of so as to be thereafter unavailable for examination.
The great majority of these deaths are certified by the attending physicians and would not otherwise fall under the jurisdiction of the Coroner. Because an investigation must be conducted, the additional workload justifies a specific fee to be paid only by the users of the specific service rather than the taxpayers in general.
Approximately 1,000 cremations are authorized each year in Butler County.
When a case falls under the jurisdiction of the Coroner, there is no charge for an autopsy and the related testing.
Families are still responsible for the cost of a funeral or cremation.
If the Coroner determines that an autopsy is not warranted, and the legal representative or next-of-kin request an autopsy, they will be responsible for all costs relating to the autopsy and can be referred for a private autopsy.
After a death, there may be a need to either clean or dispose of contaminated clothing, furniture, carpeting, or other personal belongings.
The Coroner’s Office does not provide these services. We will provide you with phone numbers for such a service upon your request.
In most cases, the Coroner will not release any information about an investigation until the family of the deceased is notified.
When an investigation is ongoing, in conjunction with law enforcement, we may restrict the detail of any information that is released.
Any information that may jeopardize the outcome of an investigation will not be released until the investigation has concluded.
No, in the majority of the cases visual identification is not required.
Should it become necessary for you to come in or bring other records or x-rays, you will be contacted. A photograph of the decedent will be viewed by the legal representative or next-of-kin for positive identification when necessary.
The Coroner’s Office makes every effort to contact a legal representative or next-of-kin as quickly as possible. Speedy notification is not always possible due to a variety of factors, such as if the victim had no identification.
To prevent a false notification, the Coroner’s Office wants to be absolutely sure of the identity of the victim before notification.
Please remember that although the victim may have been separated from his/her spouse, without a legally recognized separation or divorce decree, the spouse is still the legal next-of-kin and is usually the one who will be notified. Sometimes this may present a difficulty to other family members who believe they should be notified.
Locating next-of-kin, especially if out of state or country, make take some time.
No, in spite of much research, an exact time of death cannot be determined. An estimate can be made based on a number of physical factors, but because there are so many factors involved, the exact time of an unattended death cannot be determined.
The generally accepted practice is a range between the time last seen and time found.
The office hours are Monday-Friday from 8:00 A.M to 4:00 P.M. The Office telephone number is (724) 477-3137.
Insurance companies should place requests on company letterhead and include a statement of authorization or a signed release. Requests from attorneys must be accompanied by a subpoena or court order. Payment must be received before documents will be released. Faxed subpoenas will not be accepted.
The charges, per Act 154 of 2018, are:
Autopsy Report: $500.00
Toxicology Report: $100.00
Coroner’s Report: $100.00
Disposition Authorizations: $50.00 per request
Microscopy Slides: $20/slide
Please note that autopsy reports, pursuant to determination of the Court of Common Pleas of Butler County, are not public records subject to Right-to-Know requests by the general public.
As the legal representative or next-of-kin, you are entitled to request a copy. You must put your request in writing, include payment and mail it to the Coroner’s Office:
Butler County Coroner Office
P.O. Box 1208
Butler, PA 16003-1208
Please include in your request a correct current address and phone number. The Coroner’s Office will contact you when request is received and inform you of when the report will be mailed.
There are many green products and materials that cost the same or even less than conventional ones. Even the higher priced items can end up saving you much more money in the long run through energy cost savings, etc. By blending the right mix of low-cost technologies with those that cost the same or more, it is possible to have a "green" building project that costs the same or even less than a conventional one.
Yes, if you can find local salvageable materials and use them in your structure, you will reduce the cost of construction. Care should be taken to select materials and products that are usable without too much time consuming preparation, such as the removal of hardware and fasteners (nails in wood which can destroy saw blades). You will discover that salvaged wood is typically of a higher quality than comparable wood available today.
Generally, jurors in Butler County can be selected to serve once every three years.
A computer randomly selects your name from a master list which contains names of Butler County registered voters.
Full-time students are usually excused if requested. Please note that you are a full-time student in the Remarks Section of the Questionnaire or log on to ijuror upon receipt of a Jury Summons and request to be deferred. You may also send a separate written request.
Those on active duty with the U.S. or Pennsylvania military will be excused if requested. Please note that you are on active duty in the Remarks Section of the Questionnaire or log on to ijuror upon receipt of a Jury Summons and request to be deferred. You may also send a separate written request.
It is your responsibility to check on your juror status. Log on to ijuror. Your request for excusal may have been denied, and therefore, you will need to either report or phone-in as instructed on your summons. You should receive notification regarding your request within 10 working days.
Chances are your name was picked up from the voters' registration list. The Election Office does not remove names unless you notify them, in writing, that you are no longer a resident. If you send Jury Management a signed statement that you are no longer a resident, you will be excused from Jury Duty.
If you have served one day within a three year period of your summons, you will be excused if requested. Simply check the appropriate box in question number 7 on the qualification form or send a separate written request. Log on to ijuror. You must list your previous dates of service for verification.
Just taking medication may not be a reason for excusal. Each case is reviewed on an individual basis. Excusal requests for medical reasons must include a current detailed doctor's excuse which is then reviewed. Sending in a doctor's excuse is not an automatic excusal as many illnesses do not prevent you from serving. Please log on to ijuror to and request a form for your doctor to sign for an excusal.
Only Butler County residents are eligible to serve. If you are not a permanent resident, you must notify us in writing listing your previous and current permanent address, if applicable. Or simply fill out and return the juror information/qualification form which includes a residency question.
Anyone 18 years of age or older may be selected.
Check with your employer to make sure they do not pay you while serving. Many unions provide for jury duty pay in their union contracts. Otherwise, financial hardship requests for excusal are reviewed on an individual basis.
An employer may not deprive an employee of his/her employment or threaten or otherwise coerce a person because you received a summons to serve. Any employer who violates this law is guilty of a summary offense. If they penalize an employee for serving, the employee, within six months, may bring a civil action against the employer to recover lost wages and benefits. The employee also is allowed a reasonable attorney's fee fixed by the Court.
You will receive $9 per day for the first three days you report and $25 per day for any days thereafter. In addition, jurors are compensated for mileage at the rate of 17 cents per mile. You should receive payment by check within 3 to 4 weeks after your service is complete.
If you are unable to serve on a summoned date, a postponement or deferral of jury service may be granted. Jurors requesting their first deferral may request a deferral by logging on to ijuror and follow the prompts for deferral, at least seven business days prior to the scheduled service date in order to request a new service date. Requests for deferrals can be in writing and mailed to the Office of Jury Management at least seven business days prior to the scheduled service date at:P.O. Box 1208Butler PA, 16003
The court will respond to your request in writing.
Generally, they are not open to the public unless the juvenile was 14 years of age or older at the time of the alleged conduct and the alleged conduct would be considered a felony if committed by an adult. Or if they meet the criteria of 42 PA C.S. Sec. 6336 e (2).
It is recommended that people dress as formal as possible for Court. All clothing should be clean and free of rips or tears. Clothing must not be too tight or revealing. Clothing should not contain any obscenities or references to drugs or alcohol.
All juveniles are presumed indigent. If a juvenile appears at any hearing without counsel, the court shall appoint counsel for the juvenile prior to the commencement of the hearing.
View the Butler County Public Defender’s information regarding Juvenile cases here.
Butler County Juvenile Court Services receives referrals from four sources;
When the case is referred by a local police department, the officer completes a Juvenile Complaint and forwards it to Juvenile Court Services to initiate the process. Once received, the referral is reviewed by the District Attorney's Office to ensure that the police are charging the juvenile correctly. An intake with the juvenile and his/her parent/guardian is then scheduled within three weeks of receiving the referral. The purpose of the intake interview is to begin the process of deciding how the case will be handled by gathering background information. This information will be used to determine the most appropriate disposition for the juvenile, the victim and the community.
The juvenile’s social security card, birth certificate, health insurance card, and the most recent report card. Please see the links below for more detailed information.
Your Child and the Juvenile Court System (PDF)
Purpose of Juvenile Act (PDF)
Following the intake interview if a determination is made that an out of court disposition is not appropriate the case is scheduled for a Pre Adjudication Conference (PAC). At that time, the juvenile has the opportunity to admit or deny the charges as listed in the petition or admit to an amended petition as offered by the District Attorney's office.
If the juvenile denies the allegations, an Adjudicatory Hearing is scheduled. An Adjudicatory Hearing is a hearing to determine guilt or innocence on the alleged charges. If the juvenile is to have committed any Misdemeanor or Felony charges, the case will proceed to the Disposition which may occur at this hearing or at a later date.
The Disposition Hearing determines if the juvenile is in need of treatment, supervision, or rehabilitation. If the Court makes this finding, then the juvenile is adjudicated, delinquent. The Court must then decide if the juvenile can be supervised in the community on Probation or if the juvenile should be placed.
All felony charges, felony dispositional review hearings, and placement review hearings must be heard by a Judge. The Juvenile Court Hearing Officer hears detention hearings, cases involving misdemeanor charges and misdemeanor dispositional review hearings. A Juvenile Court Hearing Officer is a Court-appointed attorney who presides over specifically defined juvenile delinquency matters. Juveniles have a right to have all matters heard before a Judge.
Payments can be made either in person at the Clerk of Courts located on the first floor of the Courthouse (accessed through the Butler County Government Center) or by mail. Please include the juvenile’s name and juvenile docket number (ex: CP-10-JV-01-2020).
To make a payment online, the PAePay Online Case Payments site allows the public to securely make payments on cases and payment plans with outstanding balances in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Common Pleas and Magisterial District courts. Payments are accepted using Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express, and ATM/Debit cards. Read the brochure for more information
To make an online payment , Juvenile or Summary Appeal case click here:
Payments cannot exceed $1,000.00 per transaction and a transaction fee of $2.75 per transaction will be applied.
For payments on Juvenile cases, you must have the docket number, which you must obtain from your court paperwork or from Juvenile Court Services.
All juveniles who have been arrested for Misdemeanor or Felony offenses may be fingerprinted or photographed. If it is found that they committed an offense and adjudicated delinquent, it is a requirement.
If a juvenile is detained (placed in a secure facility or a shelter care facility), they will have a detention hearing within 72 hours to review probable cause and decide whether the juvenile needs to remain in detention. If the juvenile remains in custody, they need to have a Pre Adjudication Conference or an Adjudicatory Hearing within 10 days. If they are released from custody, the case is scheduled for a Pre Adjudication Conference when the court schedule allows. Juveniles released on house arrest will be given priority, if applicable.
Disposition of a juvenile still in custody must take place within twenty days. If released from detention, they will return to court when the probation officer has all the evaluations or reports and when the court schedule permits. This usually occurs within 30 to 45 days but is not a mandatory time frame.
If the juvenile shall remain in detention due to their risk to the community or themselves.
Yes, the Court may determine the appropriateness of parents/guardians being responsible for payments of court costs and/or restitution.
Non-payment referrals are sent to the Juvenile Probation Department by the Magisterial District Judges when juveniles do not comply with a lawful sentence issued by a Judge for various summary offenses. The only exception would be for the offense of Truancy (Violation of Compulsory Attendance Required 24 PA.C.S 13-333(b)2).
A sentence imposed by a Magisterial District Judge may include court costs, fines, and community service. If a sentence is not fulfilled, the Magisterial District Court will forward a Juvenile Certification Form to Juvenile Court Services. Juvenile Court Services will then send a notification to the juvenile informing them of their options to either pay the amount in full or complete a specific amount of community service. If the juvenile fails to complete either of those options, a petition may be filed with the Juvenile Court as per 42 PA C.S. 6301 which may result in an adjudication of delinquency.
In order to expunge or destroy records, a motion must be initiated, which is to take the form of a proposed Court Order, and then approved by the Court. Contact the Butler County Clerk of Courts Office for information regarding expungements.
Over 20,000 ballots have already been mailed out, and more are sent out every day. When you receive your ballot, please make sure that you fill it out, put it into and seal the secrecy envelope, and get it back in the mail to us inside the postage paid return envelope as quickly as possible. You can also bring your completed ballot (inside both the sealed secrecy envelope, and the return envelope with the bar code on it) to the Elections Bureau, Monday – Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. You must bring ID with you, and you can only bring in your own ballot.
We’ve been tracking this issue for months now. The mailing you received did not come from us. Butler County does not send out unsolicited applications. There are numerous groups that have downloaded the mail-in ballot application from the state website, printed their own marketing or candidate literature on it, and mailed them out to voters all across the country. If you have already sent in a mail-in ballot application, please do not send in another one.
The letter you received just means there was already an approved mail-in ballot application in the system for you, and we can only process one per voter. We’re finding that the overwhelming majority of people checked the box to be on the permanent mail-in ballot list, then also filled out one (or more) of the mail-in applications they received in the mail.
Despite our address being on the mailing, it did not come from the Butler County Elections Bureau. Much like the mail-in ballot applications people are receiving, these are being sent out by candidates and voter registration groups to remind people to check their registration status.
There was an issue here in the Elections Bureau that caused multiple cards to be sent out to some people. That issue has been both addressed, and corrected.
The last day to apply for a mail-in ballot is October 27th, but please do not wait that long.
Mail-In ballots must be postmarked, or hand delivered to the Elections Bureau (with identification), by 8:00 PM on Election Day, Tuesday, November 3rd.
No, the maps are for assessment purposes only and should not be considered Survey grade.
No, surveys are not registered in the County. Contact your surveyor for your information. In some cases a deed will note a surveyor.
Contact your local municipality, information can be found on our Planning Commission page.
Please contact the Recorder of Deeds office.
Road Dockets can be found in the Clerk of Courts office or possibly Recorders of Deeds office.
Information for state owned roads can be found on the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website.
Plan of subdivisions and deeds can be found in the Recorders of Deeds office.
Typically on the last week of the each month.
The Municipality where the property is located assigns all addressing.
Always call you waste hauler (who also picks up your recyclables) to get specific information on what can be placed in your curbside recycling bin and when it gets picked up. This can vary by hauler, so it is important to get the information from your hauler. Remember to only place items in the bin that are accepted by your hauler.
View the Reuse, Recycling and Waste Resource Guide (PDF) for information on how to handle many hard to recycle items.
Please call your hauler or your municipality to get information on getting a new recycling bin.
View the Reuse, Recycling and Waste Resource Guide (PDF) and look under “Hazardous Waste” or “Electronics” for disposal and recycling information.
Access Butler County’s application to collect or haul waste or recyclables in Butler County.
Adoption information is confidential and the records are sealed (impounded) by the Court. Only the Court may access those files. All requests for non-identifying information or the appointment of a search agent are handled by a judge. You may send requests to our office, marked "confidential" and we will direct them to the appropriate judge.
To obtain a Pennsylvania birth certificate based upon a foreign adoption proceeding, Pennsylvania residents must bring all original foreign documents including the adoption certificate and the certified English translations for each document to our office.
Adoptive parent(s) will be asked to complete a form that requires a social security number and a statement of citizenship/residency. This form provides the information required to complete the Vital Records forms. We certify and forward the requisite documents to Vital Records. Adoptive parents will be provided a birth certificate application form and must send it separately to Vital Records with a copy of their photo ID, payment. We are no longer permitted to obtain the birth certificate for you.
Adoption regulations, laws vary from country to country. While adoptions from some countries permit a simple registration, others may require a re-adoption hearing in Pennsylvania courts. You should consult with your adoption agency and an attorney well versed in foreign adoptions immediately to ensure the future of your child's welfare.
This matter requires the services of an attorney. We suggest that you contact your attorney or the Butler County Bar Association at 724-283-7359 for a referral.
See our Marriage Licenses page for more information.
If you applied for your license in Butler County, you will receive one certification of your record via mail after we receive the marriage return from your officiant. Additional copies may be obtained in person for $5 each or by mail for $5 research plus $5 per certification.
Alternatively, you may mail a request for the duplicate certificate/certified copy of the application. There is a $5 research fee plus the cost of the certificate/certification(s). When making a request by mail, payment must be made via U.S. money orders only. We do not accept personal checks for marriage license certifications. This method also requires a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return mailing.
If you applied for your license in another county, you must contact the county where you applied for your license.
You must get your license in the state or country where the marriage will take place. Check with your travel agent for requirements. Foreign countries usually require Apostilles from the Pennsylvania Department of State. Information from them can be obtained by calling 717-787-5280 or by emailing the Pennsylvania Department of State.
No. Your marriage will never be registered anywhere other than the place (county/state/country) where you applied for your license.
No. In Pennsylvania, records of marriage licenses are maintained only in the county where you applied for the license. If you applied in Butler County, but were married in another county within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, your records would only be in Butler County.
You can apply in any county of the Commonwealth and use the license in any other county of the Commonwealth. Just remember where you applied in order to retrieve records for future needs.
Pennsylvania law clearly lists those who are recognized to officiate at marriage ceremonies.
If individuals choose to be married by someone other than those listed as an ordained minister of a regularly established congregation or a civil official authorized by Pennsylvania law, the burden of proof regarding legality (or lack thereof) is on the individuals involved should future issues arise that require a determination of the marriage's validity. We do not determine what is or is not a church/congregation.
No. Pennsylvania courts have ruled common-law marriages after September 17, 2003, are invalid for the state of Pennsylvania.
Yes, same sex marriages are legally recognized in Pennsylvania.
The 1996 Federal Welfare Reform Act and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Act 98-127 requires the verified social security number of an individual (who has one) in order to apply for a marriage license.
The social security number is protected by federal, state law. It is available only to authorized personnel as specified under the law. It does not appear on the application itself, or on any other public documents of this office.
Federal and state statutes do not permit us to take any marriage application without your social security number.
Provision is made for those who do not have a social security such as non-citizens. The application is taken and the license is issued. All U.S. citizens are required to provide us with their social security number.
No. Living persons do not have wills on file at the Register of Wills office. Original wills are usually kept secure by the attorney who prepared the will, in the vault of a trust department, or in a safe deposit box belonging to the testator (person who wrote the will).
Being named does not confer any authority until the will is probated. This authority is granted by the Register of Wills in a document called Letters.
Because a short certificate is our certification that an estate proceeding is on record in our office, we can only issue them after the estate is raised. You may purchase as many short certificates as necessary from the Register's Office at any time after the formal opening of an estate or probate of will.
If we do not have an estate, we cannot issue a short certificate - regardless of what the banks, post office, or others may have told you.
No. Wills are accepted for probate only in the county where the decedent was legally domiciled at the time of death.
No, that would be the unauthorized practice of law. It is the duty and obligation of the personal representative (executor or administrator) to know what must be done, when it must be done, and how it must be done. If you have no knowledge of the legal administrative process for estates and/or the fiduciary laws of Pennsylvania, you should seek the help of legal counsel.
The Register of Wills and staff are not licensed to give legal advice. Professionals could actually save time and money in the long run due to their knowledge and experience.
Where there is no will, the process is basically the same but uses different terminology. An Administrator is appointed pursuant to the Intestate Succession laws. The Register of Wills Grants Letters of Administration. The decedent's estate is then distributed according to a formula which is also set forth by law. These "intestacy" laws name the beneficiaries and the amount to which they are entitled. Contrary to the scare tactics of modern advertisements, the state does not take your assets.
Yes. Probate, Estates, and Fiduciaries Code Section 3101 authorizes any bank/financial institution to release up to $10,000 to surviving spouse, any child, mother/father, sibling of the decedent without a short certificate. You will need to furnish an original death certificate and a copy of the paid funeral bill (or an Affidavit from the funeral director that satisfactory arrangements have been made for the payment).
If you have problems with any bank refusing to follow the statutes, please contact us with the details including date, branch, decedent's name, and to whom you spoke. We will forward your complaint to the Pennsylvania Banking Commission.
Insurance companies may release up to $11,000 to named family members rather than to the estate.
All petitions for letters must include:
No certificates/letters may be issued until all procedures have been completed and requisite forms duly executed, fees paid. All fees must be paid at the time of filing.
All other requests for mailings (e.g, certified orders, receipts, photocopies, etc.) must include self-addressed, stamped envelope of adequate size and postage to cover request.
Our offices are located at:Level L, Government Center124 W Diamond StreetButler, PA 16001
They can be found directly behind the old courthouse.
All records in the Register of Wills and Orphans' Court departments are open to the public with the exception of Adoption records. Adoption records are impounded by law and are available only by order of court. If you are an adult adoptee and wish to obtain information from an adoption file, you must contact Judge Marilyn Horan for the proper paperwork.
Yes, anyone is able to access non-impounded information anytime during normal hours of operation.
You may come to the office to review any record during normal business hours, or you may mail your request for information together with research fee to:
The Honorable Sarah E. Edwards, M.A., J.D.Register of Wills & Clerk of Orphans' CourtP.O. Box 1208Butler, PA 16003
We do not do research over the phone.
Probate is the procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid according to the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
Yes, all probate records are available to be viewed by the public, unless impounded by court order.
A will is registered or probated too authorize a representative to administer estate assets.
"Intestate" means someone dies without a will.
A short certificate is a certification that a probate/administration proceeding is on file in our office and that the personal representative's appointment has not been revoked.
A will is probated only after the testator dies. It is important to keep the will in a safe place before this time. You should also tell your family, heirs, and/or personal representative(s) the location of your will.
We are required by law to keep the original will as a part of the permanent record.
We suggest you contact an attorney to prepare a petition for a register's hearing.
Letters Testamentary / Letters of Administration are documents issued by the Register of Wills authorizing a person(s) to act as the personal representative of the decedent’s estate. It is the authority required to marshal assets, access records, or make distribution.
We cannot mandate that you use an attorney. However, unless you know what, how, and when to do each step of the estate process, we urge you to at least speak to an attorney regarding the estate. Due to litigation liability, employees in this office cannot make any determinations or instruct you in any manner as to what is required to administer an estate. Also, we are not permitted aid in the preparation of any forms.
Moreover, if you raise an estate and later discover it was not necessary to do so, we cannot refund any of the filing fees.
The order of appointment is established by law.
To open an estate you will need:
No. This office functions only as an agent for the Department of Revenue in the filing and processing of Inheritance Tax Returns/payments. The staff is not trained to give advice concerning the correct completion of the return or calculation of the tax.
The Inheritance Tax Booklet with instructions is available in our office or you may download forms/instructions from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue's website Inheritance Tax Department. For other frequently asked questions regarding Inheritance Tax, see our Inheritance Tax page.
If you have questions that are not answered in the instruction booklet, you should contact an attorney or an accountant for assistance. You may also phone the Department of Revenue's Information Line at 717-787-8327.