How do I get a certified copy of my marriage license?

Applications in Butler County

If you applied for your license in Butler County, you will receive one certification of your record via mail after we receive the marriage return from your officiant. Additional copies may be obtained in person for $5 each or by mail for $5 research plus $5 per certification.

Alternatively, you may mail a request for the duplicate certificate/certified copy of the application. There is a $5 research fee plus the cost of the certificate/certification(s). When making a request by mail, payment must be made via U.S. money orders only. We do not accept personal checks for marriage license certifications. This method also requires a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return mailing.

Applications in Other Counties

If you applied for your license in another county, you must contact the county where you applied for your license.

Show All Answers

1. I was adopted and want to locate my birth parents. How do I access adoption records?
2. I adopted a child in a foreign country. How do I get a Pennsylvania birth certificate for the child?
3. How do I get appointed as the guardian of a minor child or incapacitated person?
4. What are the requirements to apply for a marriage license?
5. How do I get a certified copy of my marriage license?
6. We are getting married on a cruise, island, or in another state / country. Where do we get our marriage license?
7. Can I register my marriage in Pennsylvania if it takes place in another country or state?
8. Is there a central registry of marriage in Pennsylvania?
9. Where should I obtain my marriage license if I am being married in a different county other than the one I live in?
10. Do I need a licensed minister or priest to perform my marriage ceremony?
11. Does Pennsylvania recognize common-law marriages?
12. Are same sex marriages legal in Pennsylvania?
13. How old do you have to be to obtain a marriage license in Pennsylvania?
14. Why do you need my social security number to apply for a marriage license?
15. Marriage applications are public record, but my social security number wont be viewable by the public, right?
16. What if I have a social security number, but refuse to provide it?
17. What happens if I do not have a social security number?